Lilburn Logo


Lilburn City Council

Media Contact:
Rozalyn Schmitt, Public Relations Manager
Office: 770-638-2225, Mobile: 678-551-1196

For immediate release
January 14, 2020

Link to full agenda packet

City to hold special election

City Council voted unanimously to accept the resignations of Mayor Johnny Crist and Council member Tim Dunn, effective March 1, 2020. Vote: 3-0

The City of Lilburn will hold a special election on May 19, 2020 at Lilburn City Hall to fill vacancies in the offices of Mayor and Council Post 4. Lilburn City Council approved Resolution #2020-01 providing for the 2020 City of Lilburn Special Election schedule and qualifying feesInformation regarding the upcoming election may be found in the attached full agenda packet. Vote: 4-0
Link to press release regarding special election and council resignations.

Mayor and Council 2020 appointments

Each calendar year it is necessary for the Mayor and City Council to appoint the Mayor Pro-Tem, City Attorney, Legal Organ, Council Responsibilities, Municipal Judges and Solicitor(s), and members to all Commissions and Boards. The council voted unanimously to approve the following appointments for 2020.

Mayor Pro-Tem - S. Scott Batterton
Parliamentary Procedures - Robert's Rules of Order
City Attorney & Parliamentarian - Richard A. Carothers
Legal Organ - Gwinnett Daily Post

Council Responsibilities - All council members will share equally in all areas of responsibility.

Municipal Court:
Municipal Judge - Charles Barrett
Associate Judge(s) - Carla Brown and Claude Mason
Pro Hac (Standy) Judge(s) - Kenneth Wickham and Jennifer Mann
Solicitor - Erica Dove
Assistant Solicitor - Robert Giannini
Merit Board:
June Moloney, Executive Secretary
Mark Raymond
Jack Bolton
Joette Segars
James R. Morton
Emil Powella - Employee Representative to the Merit Board

Planning Commission:
Aaron J. Passman
Emil Powella
Joe Gennusa
Hugh Wilkerson
Michelle West

Zoning Board of Appeals:
Yoon-Mi Hampton
Jon Stallsmith
Tony Williams
Cary Garner

Board of Adjustments:
Jennifer Cardinell
Kent Suter
John Calhoun
Mike Hart
Michael Taylor

Future townhome developments on hold

City Council voted to approve a moratorium barring the acceptance of applications for townhome developments in the city. Townhome developments are currently allowed in zoning districts R2 (medium density residential) and MU (mixed use). Imposing a moratorium allows city staff time to develop additional standards for townhome developments and present recommendations for the Mayor and City Council's consideration. Vote: 4-0 

Small Cell Ordinance approved

Lilburn City Council approved a Small Cell Ordinance establishing requirements, specifications, and reasonable conditions regarding the placement of small wireless facilities in the city's rights-of-way. Adoption of the ordinance ends the moratorium barring the issuance of permits for wireless communication devices imposed in December 2019. Vote: 4-0

Other Business

  • City Council approved Ordinance #2020-547, modifying city code to include regulations on businesses that permit the smoking of hookah or vapor. The ordinance is similar to Gwinnett County's restrictions on hookah/vapor bars or lounges. The new ordinance prohibits the sale of food and alcohol and defines the operating hours and age restrictions of patrons of hookah/vapor bars or lounges. Vote: 4-0
  • Resolution No. 2020-02 was approved, establishing a 2020 fee schedule for the city's Planning Department.  Additions to the fee schedule include: punitive fees for building without a permit, a fee for plan review of an engineered retaining wall, and fees for telecommunications facilities including tall structure permits and small wireless facilities. Vote: 4-0 

Powered by
CivicSend - A product of CivicPlus