Lilburn Logo


Lilburn City Council

Media Contact:
Nikki Perry, Public Relations Director
Office: 770-638-2223, mobile: 678-551-1196

For immediate release

Jan. 8, 2018

Councilman's longtime service honored

The City of Lilburn recognized Dr. Scott Batterton for his years of service as a City Council member since 1984, including two terms as mayor. He has also served as an advisory board member, police department chaplain, and veteran of the U.S. Navy Dental Corps and Georgia Army National Guard. Dr. Batterton recently retired from full-time dentistry after practicing 38 years in Lilburn. The Mayor declared Jan. 8 each year to be "Dr. Scott Batterton Day". 

City continues participation in CID

Council approved continued participation in the Lilburn Community Improvement District. The resolution will accompany the CID's application for a Atlanta Regional Commission transportation planning grant, which will fund a five-year update to the “Highway 29 Corridor of Opportunity” Study. This plan outlines efforts by the CID and city to provide a balanced transportation system, enhance access, improve safety, encourage economic development, and promote quality of life. Vote: 4-0. 

City adopts Gwinnett stormwater manual

The City has historically referenced the Gwinnett County Stormwater Design Manual in the development regulations in administering stormwater ordinances and providing for stormwater design standards, inspections and post-construction maintenance. Council voted to adopt the 2017 update to the manual and separate county-approved pipe standards. For more information about the regulations, which are effective March 1, click hereVote: 4-0. 

Annual appointments

The council voted unanimously to approve the following appointments. 

  • Mayor Pro Tem – Tim Dunn
  • Parliamentary Procedures – Robert’s Rules of Order
  • City Attorney & Parliamentarian – Richard A. Carothers
  • Legal Organ – Gwinnett Daily Post
  • Building Official – Doug Stacks
  • City Planner – Joellen Wilson
  • City Clerk – Melissa L. Penate
  • Council Responsibilities – All council members will share equally in all areas of responsibility.
  • Municipal Judge – Charles Barrett
  • Associate Judge(s) – Carla Brown and Claude Mason
  • Pro Hac (Standby) Judge(s) – Kenneth Wickham and Jennifer Mann
  • Solicitor – Russell Bryant
  • Assistant Solicitor – Steve Chen and Robert Giannini
Merit Board – 
  • June Moloney, Executive Secretary
  • Mark Raymond
  • Jack Bolton
  • Joette Segars
  • James R. Morton
  • Carmen Stewart, Employee Representative to the Merit Board
Planning Commission – 
  • Aaron J. Passman
  • Emil Powella
  • Joe Gennusa
  • Hugh Wilkerson
  • Michelle West
Zoning Board of Appeals – 
  • Yoon-Mi Hampton
  • Jon Stallsmith
  • Philip Holland
  • Tony Williams
  • Carl Biemiller
Board of Adjustments – 
  • Kent Suter
  • John Calhoun
  • Mike Hart
  • Michael Taylor
Powered by CivicSend - A product of CivicPlus